Charging the right amount

A few weeks ago I wanted to get some photographs printed at short notice. I found that there is a Snappy Snaps shop on the Bethnal Green Road, which was convenient to where I was going to be that day. I called the shop to ask if I could email my photos in but that day there system was out of order, the guy on the phone said (I later learned that other people have had the same message on different days). So I had to go in. When I got there I found that getting about five photos done was exorbitantly expensive but the man pointed out that if I bought 11 it would be cheaper than getting however many it was that I originally wanted.

When I came to pay the Snappy Snaps man was adding up the cost. I told him the price, which was a few pence shy of £11. Oh no, it’s £11 he said. No, it’s £10.89 I said. Oh yes, I always round the price up, he said.

This is not okay. But apparently, it is what they do in the Snappy Snaps on the Bethnal Green Road. I won’t be going back there again.

Today, I was in the British Heart Foundation shop in Catford. The cashier was having a bad day. Her manager wasn’t in and she was having real problems scanning items. Eventually, she explained that she couldn’t get it to work properly and so as not to hold us up she had put it through another way and we would be saving ourselves 50p said the cashier. Except that I was meant to be paying £9.47 and she asked me for £10.96.

But this time I didn’t mind. The woman was struggling and she was a volunteer. Sure, the British Heart Foundation need to improve their systems and volunteer training but it wasn’t that woman’s fault as far as I could see. It’s a charity too, so I decided to let it go.

We were in the midst of an urban ramble so we had time to discuss this incident as we walked on. I realised that I had a burning sense of injustice with me even though I had decided to let this miscalculation go. It was about being charged the right price for something. But it was only passing and as it was relatively small it was easy enough to leave it at the river, as we say in our family, when we need to let something go.

So, even being told to pay just a few pence more means that I will no longer shop with a company but with a charity I’ve found that I’m willing to let a couple of pounds go. But if I was the British Heart Foundation I’d want to improve the shop management.

Leave a Reply

