How much is the packaging worth?

Two packets of salmon in Tesco, side by side. One is £2.50 and is in the value range. The other £2.69, down from £3.69, has fancy packaging. 

The woman next to me takes the fancy pack. Only 19p more, she says to her friend, I’ll have the higher quality one.

I’ll have the value one, I say to her, twice as much fish for 19p less. 

At Quaker Social Action we run a project called Made of Money, teaching people living on low incomes how to budget and manage their money, explore their attitudes to money and, importantly, they learn how to communicate within their families about money. Just being aware of Made of Money has helped make me more conscious about choices I make while spending. 

Leave a Reply

