parkrun breakfast

For me there’s nothing quite like a helping of cold porridge as a post-parkrun breakfast.

And not just cold porridge – it has to be cold porridge eaten out of the pan with the wooden stirring spoon. I even love scrubbing the plasticky layering around the edge of the pan onto the spoon.

Image

This morning’s offering was particularly fabulous. We’ve recently found that our son is getting into his porridge, possibly helped by the rather brilliant Abney & Teal porridge episode. And this has left us with rather more excess porridge than normal. Result for me!

Porridge was a rather fitting breakfast for today’s parkrun outing. It was not a nice day out there. The wind and rain wasn’t so bad as it had mostly eased off. It was the saturated ground that made running an exercise in agility and balance, not speed and finesse.

My neighbour S joined me for parkrun today. We ran together, sometimes running wide to avoid the worst of the waterlogged ground  and we walked up one of the hills. To his credit, hardly having run since November, my neighbour put up with my unceasing encouragement (“Just two more lamp posts to the top of the hill”) and ran all they way round the last lap. For some of us parkrunners, it’s not about the personal bests and the top times. It really is just about taking part and getting through it.

Keeping up the Janathon experience I ran parkrun’s 3.13 miles in 33:14 or so. I ran there too, 0.85 miles.

Related posts

Porridge lady on eating porridge for Christmas

Janathon’s Shaz on bad weather running

Joel Stewart, creator of Abney & Teal, on the effort put into the cartoon series

3 thoughts on “parkrun breakfast”

  1. Now I like porridge but cold porridge not sure about that. You are right PB’s are not going to happen in those conditions (well that’s what I tell myself!) am so envious that you live in running distance to PR lucky you.

  2. Even though I live .85 miles from my parkrun, I’ve been surprised to see people driving there who live closer than me. So far I’ve never done anything but run or walk to parkrun.

Leave a Reply

