Bargain Hunt

Image

In Bargain Hunt, the popular daytime TV programme on BBC, two teams of amateur collectors have a limited time to find the best bargain that they can. The rivalry is always fairly light but I imagine that bragging rights must go on for ever. 

From time-to-time I turn my lunchbreak into my own little version of Bargain Hunt. My stamping ground is always the same – the 3 or so charity shops of Bethnal Green, AyokaLama’s Pyjamas and the Spitalfields Crypt shop

Today, I had a walker, some books and some Xmas decorations to give away. Since they were bulky and heavy I took them to Ayoka, about 20 yards from my office. Then I set off with nowhere in particular in mind – I just wanted to get some light exercise for Janathon and I wanted to practise a bit of walking mindfulness. 

I found myself on the Roman Road and popped into the Lama’s Pyjamas where, hidden under the women’s dresses rack, I found a super little Biemme trike. Only £3.50! It’s only couple of weeks since Christmas but I couldn’t resist buying it for my son. As I paid, the woman at the counter asked if I wanted a bag. No, I replied, I’ll ride it home. On the way back to the office a woman suggested that I might need to find myself a larger bike. Carrying children’s toys around is a great way to gather quips from passers by! 

Janathon stats: Steps so far today, 3,536. 

Related posts

Tired of London, tired of life visits Ayoka

This is my England records graffiti around Bethnal Green

Living for the adventure’s weekend Janathon catch-up

One thought on “Bargain Hunt”

Leave a Reply

