Procrastinate! Procrastinate!

The daleks may have been more successful if they had tried to make everyone procrastinate instead of trying to exterminate.

I’ve read the books, I’ve done the courses, I ought to have the sodding T-shirt.

Each time I find a new system to get my tasks done, I start well but after a while I lose some discipline and gradually I feel like I’m back at square one.

It’s like I’m walking down the road and I can see the hole. I name the hole and I know from experience what it is like to be in the hole. I know how to avoid the hole. Before I know it, I’m back in the hole.

Sigh.

Instead of getting out of the hole I start digging.

When I procrastinate, I get anxious. My mood dips. And I pick a fingernail off.

I read an article recently where a woman suggested that with meditation she gives up nail picking, rather than she gave up. It’s not always there, but from time to time you have to overcome it again. I identify with that.

So I’m out on a lunchtime walk with my colleague D. He and his wife have both quit nail biting in the past. He’s giving me tips and encouragement from his experience but later I realise that I should concentrate on tackling the cause of the anxiety.

I remember another life lesson. If you’re having a crap day, don’t carry on ploughing through it. Stop for a few minutes. Concentrate on your breathing for a while. And start a new day where you left off from the old one.

Now I need a pen and paper, I’ve got to break the big job down into smaller, more manageable pieces. There is light at the end of the tunnel again.

Moves app says 8,405 steps.

Leave a Reply

