Brockley’s Rock

I love a good fish and chips meal. And I’m blessed that in Brockley we have a great fish and chips takeaway.

image

The fish is always cooked to order so it’s worth phoning your order in before you set off.

As well as fried fish they sell grilled fish, fish cakes and calamari. It took me over a year, maybe two, to get around to trying the grilled fish. But when I did, I wished I had tried earlier! One day I will get around to trying the calamari. I’ve had a fish cake too, which was good, bit I lo e grilled or fried fish too.

Vegetarians are catered for with a peppery veg cake, which is apparently very good too and far superior to vegetarian offerings in many F&C establishments. They also do a weekly gluten-free night.

The only drawback of brockley’s rock is that when you have fish and chips elsewhere, it is often inferior. Last year, on holiday in Norfolk, despite following recommendations, the F&C wasn’t up to our local standards.

Last night I had the fried plaice, chips, mushy peas and curry sauce, which goes very well with the chips. Now that Junior is eating fish, I now get to share my fish portion with him. It looks like he’s getting into it as much as his father.

One thought on “Brockley’s Rock”

  1. I agree – this place is fab. Went to my favourite F&C place in Brighton yesterday and after being spoilt with the Brockley’s Rock Calamari & Chips it was disappointing!!!

Leave a Reply

